Do I have to take mana from my deck or hand when tapping a dual land? [duplicate]What is the difference between lands and mana?How do dual lands and their mana work?What happens when you play Cloudshift on Borderland Ranger?When a land is granted a basic land type, what effects does that have?Underworld Connections: Tapping the Land for mana and ability?How does Charmed Pendant interact with Reaper King?Why would I want to use the activated ability of “Scalding Tarn”?How much mana does Radiant Fountain provide when tapped?How does exiling cards for Delve work?Does Unbridled Growth provide two mana or one?Sunbird's invocation implied rulesUnderrealm Lich and Divination

How to deal with loss of decision making power over a change?

What (else) happened July 1st 1858 in London?

How did Monica know how to operate Carol's "designer"?

What is the smallest body in which a sling shot maneuver can be performed?

Should my PhD thesis be submitted under my legal name?

Teaching indefinite integrals that require special-casing

How to decode Core DB Account.Signers using the stellar js-sdk

Do these cracks on my tires look bad?

Is camera lens focus an exact point or a range?

Visiting the UK as unmarried couple

Partial sums of primes

tikz grid without top edge

Can a Bard use an arcane focus?

Is there any significance to the Valyrian Stone vault door of Qarth?

Can I create an upright 7ft x 5ft wall with Minor Illusion?

Can I rely on these GitHub repository files?

word describing multiple paths to the same abstract outcome

What does the "3am" section means in manpages?

How to interpret the phrase "t’en a fait voir à toi"?

General topology proving something for all of its points

The most efficient algorithm to find all possible integer pairs which sum to a given integer

What will be the benefits of Brexit?

Blender - show edges angles “direction”

Can somebody explain Brexit in a few child-proof sentences?



Do I have to take mana from my deck or hand when tapping a dual land? [duplicate]


What is the difference between lands and mana?How do dual lands and their mana work?What happens when you play Cloudshift on Borderland Ranger?When a land is granted a basic land type, what effects does that have?Underworld Connections: Tapping the Land for mana and ability?How does Charmed Pendant interact with Reaper King?Why would I want to use the activated ability of “Scalding Tarn”?How much mana does Radiant Fountain provide when tapped?How does exiling cards for Delve work?Does Unbridled Growth provide two mana or one?Sunbird's invocation implied rulesUnderrealm Lich and Divination













11
















This question already has an answer here:



  • What is the difference between lands and mana?

    2 answers



  • How do dual lands and their mana work? [duplicate]

    2 answers



I have a land card, for example Stone Quarry which reads "T: Add R or W." Do I take the mana from my library or my hand?










share|improve this question









New contributor




user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.











marked as duplicate by Joe W, Hackworth, Pureferret, Zags, JonTheMon Mar 21 at 16:56


This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.













  • 2





    Related: How do dual lands and their mana work?

    – doppelgreener
    Mar 19 at 23:28






  • 4





    Also: Compare Stone Quarry with Arid Mesa to see how the other effect is worded.

    – Zulan
    Mar 20 at 8:28






  • 3





    @Zulan found Terrain Generator as an example of "from your hand"

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 9:28















11
















This question already has an answer here:



  • What is the difference between lands and mana?

    2 answers



  • How do dual lands and their mana work? [duplicate]

    2 answers



I have a land card, for example Stone Quarry which reads "T: Add R or W." Do I take the mana from my library or my hand?










share|improve this question









New contributor




user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.











marked as duplicate by Joe W, Hackworth, Pureferret, Zags, JonTheMon Mar 21 at 16:56


This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.













  • 2





    Related: How do dual lands and their mana work?

    – doppelgreener
    Mar 19 at 23:28






  • 4





    Also: Compare Stone Quarry with Arid Mesa to see how the other effect is worded.

    – Zulan
    Mar 20 at 8:28






  • 3





    @Zulan found Terrain Generator as an example of "from your hand"

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 9:28













11












11








11









This question already has an answer here:



  • What is the difference between lands and mana?

    2 answers



  • How do dual lands and their mana work? [duplicate]

    2 answers



I have a land card, for example Stone Quarry which reads "T: Add R or W." Do I take the mana from my library or my hand?










share|improve this question









New contributor




user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.













This question already has an answer here:



  • What is the difference between lands and mana?

    2 answers



  • How do dual lands and their mana work? [duplicate]

    2 answers



I have a land card, for example Stone Quarry which reads "T: Add R or W." Do I take the mana from my library or my hand?





This question already has an answer here:



  • What is the difference between lands and mana?

    2 answers



  • How do dual lands and their mana work? [duplicate]

    2 answers







magic-the-gathering






share|improve this question









New contributor




user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.











share|improve this question









New contributor




user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.









share|improve this question




share|improve this question








edited Mar 20 at 14:50









doppelgreener

16.2k860123




16.2k860123






New contributor




user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.









asked Mar 19 at 21:46









user26844user26844

615




615




New contributor




user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.





New contributor





user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.






user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.




marked as duplicate by Joe W, Hackworth, Pureferret, Zags, JonTheMon Mar 21 at 16:56


This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.









marked as duplicate by Joe W, Hackworth, Pureferret, Zags, JonTheMon Mar 21 at 16:56


This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.









  • 2





    Related: How do dual lands and their mana work?

    – doppelgreener
    Mar 19 at 23:28






  • 4





    Also: Compare Stone Quarry with Arid Mesa to see how the other effect is worded.

    – Zulan
    Mar 20 at 8:28






  • 3





    @Zulan found Terrain Generator as an example of "from your hand"

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 9:28












  • 2





    Related: How do dual lands and their mana work?

    – doppelgreener
    Mar 19 at 23:28






  • 4





    Also: Compare Stone Quarry with Arid Mesa to see how the other effect is worded.

    – Zulan
    Mar 20 at 8:28






  • 3





    @Zulan found Terrain Generator as an example of "from your hand"

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 9:28







2




2





Related: How do dual lands and their mana work?

– doppelgreener
Mar 19 at 23:28





Related: How do dual lands and their mana work?

– doppelgreener
Mar 19 at 23:28




4




4





Also: Compare Stone Quarry with Arid Mesa to see how the other effect is worded.

– Zulan
Mar 20 at 8:28





Also: Compare Stone Quarry with Arid Mesa to see how the other effect is worded.

– Zulan
Mar 20 at 8:28




3




3





@Zulan found Terrain Generator as an example of "from your hand"

– JollyJoker
Mar 20 at 9:28





@Zulan found Terrain Generator as an example of "from your hand"

– JollyJoker
Mar 20 at 9:28










2 Answers
2






active

oldest

votes


















38














You are confusing Lands with Mana, a common beginners' mistake.



Mana is a resource that you use to cast spells; it is not represented by cards; you can not physically see it. When you tap a land, such as a Mountain, you add a red mana to your mana pool, which means you now have 1 red mana to spend.



When you tap a Stone Quarry, you choose to either add a red mana to your mana pool, or to add a white mana to your mana pool. Either way you end up with 1 mana in your mana pool. You do not get any land cards from your library or your hand.



Note that tapping a Stone Quarry is very similar to tapping a Mountain. When you tap a Mountain, you are activating an ability that says ""T:Add R." This ability is just not printed on the card for basic lands; it is instead within the rulebook for all basic lands.



An effect that has you put a land card from your hand or library onto the battlefield would specifically say so:



Arid Mesa's ability says:




Search your library for a Mountain or Plains card, put it onto the battlefield, then shuffle your library.




and Terrain Generator's ability says




You may put a basic land card from your hand onto the battlefield tapped.




Note that Arid Mesa can't even produce mana, even though it is a land. Lands commonly produce mana, but not all of them do.






share|improve this answer




















  • 5





    Good answer, but could use Arid Mesa and Terrain Generator as examples of wording for playing lands from library or hand.

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 9:30






  • 2





    Just to avoid confusion about number of land drops, you might want to change: "An effect that has you get (play) a land card from your hand or library would specifically say so:" to: "An effect that has you put a land card from your hand or library onto the battlefield would specifically say so:"

    – Malco
    Mar 20 at 14:03


















16














enter image description here



Take a look at the old mountains, they had written on them "T: Add R to your mana pool" from 6th edition on they stopped printing that on the card itself, but the rules still include that all lands with the type Mountain tap for R, that's all the land does is add red mana when tapped. Lands produce mana, they aren't actually mana themselves. This is covered in the Comprehensive Rules(emphasis mine):




305.6 The basic land types are Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest. If an object uses the words "basic land type," it's referring to one of these subtypes. A land with a basic land type has the intrinsic ability "T: Add [mana symbol]," even if the text box doesn't actually contain that text or the object has no text box. For Plains, [mana symbol] is W; for Islands, U; for Swamps, B; for Mountains, R; and for Forests, G. See rule 107.4a. See also rule 605, "Mana Abilities."




That's also why the ability to add mana is in brackets on the more recent printings of typed duals like Sacred Foundry because being a mountain and a plains means it can tap for red or for white, it doesn't need to be explicit on the card, anything in brackets is just there as a reminder.






share|improve this answer

























  • I didn't realize this held true for non-basic lands with basic land types. Have they ever left out the explicit text for nonbasic lands that still have a basic land type?

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 14:31






  • 5





    @JollyJoker Yes, the textboxes of the expedition shock lands didn't even have reminder text, only "As ~ enters the battlefield, you may pay 2 life. If you don't, ~ enters the battlefield tapped." Take a look at Temple Garden

    – Andrew
    Mar 20 at 14:39







  • 2





    @JollyJoker It's also why Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth works, because adding the type swamp to a nonbasic land makes it able to tap for black.

    – Andrew
    Mar 20 at 14:43











  • Good point on Urborg. I just haven't noticed those shock lands

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 14:55

















2 Answers
2






active

oldest

votes








2 Answers
2






active

oldest

votes









active

oldest

votes






active

oldest

votes









38














You are confusing Lands with Mana, a common beginners' mistake.



Mana is a resource that you use to cast spells; it is not represented by cards; you can not physically see it. When you tap a land, such as a Mountain, you add a red mana to your mana pool, which means you now have 1 red mana to spend.



When you tap a Stone Quarry, you choose to either add a red mana to your mana pool, or to add a white mana to your mana pool. Either way you end up with 1 mana in your mana pool. You do not get any land cards from your library or your hand.



Note that tapping a Stone Quarry is very similar to tapping a Mountain. When you tap a Mountain, you are activating an ability that says ""T:Add R." This ability is just not printed on the card for basic lands; it is instead within the rulebook for all basic lands.



An effect that has you put a land card from your hand or library onto the battlefield would specifically say so:



Arid Mesa's ability says:




Search your library for a Mountain or Plains card, put it onto the battlefield, then shuffle your library.




and Terrain Generator's ability says




You may put a basic land card from your hand onto the battlefield tapped.




Note that Arid Mesa can't even produce mana, even though it is a land. Lands commonly produce mana, but not all of them do.






share|improve this answer




















  • 5





    Good answer, but could use Arid Mesa and Terrain Generator as examples of wording for playing lands from library or hand.

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 9:30






  • 2





    Just to avoid confusion about number of land drops, you might want to change: "An effect that has you get (play) a land card from your hand or library would specifically say so:" to: "An effect that has you put a land card from your hand or library onto the battlefield would specifically say so:"

    – Malco
    Mar 20 at 14:03















38














You are confusing Lands with Mana, a common beginners' mistake.



Mana is a resource that you use to cast spells; it is not represented by cards; you can not physically see it. When you tap a land, such as a Mountain, you add a red mana to your mana pool, which means you now have 1 red mana to spend.



When you tap a Stone Quarry, you choose to either add a red mana to your mana pool, or to add a white mana to your mana pool. Either way you end up with 1 mana in your mana pool. You do not get any land cards from your library or your hand.



Note that tapping a Stone Quarry is very similar to tapping a Mountain. When you tap a Mountain, you are activating an ability that says ""T:Add R." This ability is just not printed on the card for basic lands; it is instead within the rulebook for all basic lands.



An effect that has you put a land card from your hand or library onto the battlefield would specifically say so:



Arid Mesa's ability says:




Search your library for a Mountain or Plains card, put it onto the battlefield, then shuffle your library.




and Terrain Generator's ability says




You may put a basic land card from your hand onto the battlefield tapped.




Note that Arid Mesa can't even produce mana, even though it is a land. Lands commonly produce mana, but not all of them do.






share|improve this answer




















  • 5





    Good answer, but could use Arid Mesa and Terrain Generator as examples of wording for playing lands from library or hand.

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 9:30






  • 2





    Just to avoid confusion about number of land drops, you might want to change: "An effect that has you get (play) a land card from your hand or library would specifically say so:" to: "An effect that has you put a land card from your hand or library onto the battlefield would specifically say so:"

    – Malco
    Mar 20 at 14:03













38












38








38







You are confusing Lands with Mana, a common beginners' mistake.



Mana is a resource that you use to cast spells; it is not represented by cards; you can not physically see it. When you tap a land, such as a Mountain, you add a red mana to your mana pool, which means you now have 1 red mana to spend.



When you tap a Stone Quarry, you choose to either add a red mana to your mana pool, or to add a white mana to your mana pool. Either way you end up with 1 mana in your mana pool. You do not get any land cards from your library or your hand.



Note that tapping a Stone Quarry is very similar to tapping a Mountain. When you tap a Mountain, you are activating an ability that says ""T:Add R." This ability is just not printed on the card for basic lands; it is instead within the rulebook for all basic lands.



An effect that has you put a land card from your hand or library onto the battlefield would specifically say so:



Arid Mesa's ability says:




Search your library for a Mountain or Plains card, put it onto the battlefield, then shuffle your library.




and Terrain Generator's ability says




You may put a basic land card from your hand onto the battlefield tapped.




Note that Arid Mesa can't even produce mana, even though it is a land. Lands commonly produce mana, but not all of them do.






share|improve this answer















You are confusing Lands with Mana, a common beginners' mistake.



Mana is a resource that you use to cast spells; it is not represented by cards; you can not physically see it. When you tap a land, such as a Mountain, you add a red mana to your mana pool, which means you now have 1 red mana to spend.



When you tap a Stone Quarry, you choose to either add a red mana to your mana pool, or to add a white mana to your mana pool. Either way you end up with 1 mana in your mana pool. You do not get any land cards from your library or your hand.



Note that tapping a Stone Quarry is very similar to tapping a Mountain. When you tap a Mountain, you are activating an ability that says ""T:Add R." This ability is just not printed on the card for basic lands; it is instead within the rulebook for all basic lands.



An effect that has you put a land card from your hand or library onto the battlefield would specifically say so:



Arid Mesa's ability says:




Search your library for a Mountain or Plains card, put it onto the battlefield, then shuffle your library.




and Terrain Generator's ability says




You may put a basic land card from your hand onto the battlefield tapped.




Note that Arid Mesa can't even produce mana, even though it is a land. Lands commonly produce mana, but not all of them do.







share|improve this answer














share|improve this answer



share|improve this answer








edited Mar 20 at 14:30

























answered Mar 19 at 22:06









GendoIkariGendoIkari

44.5k394172




44.5k394172







  • 5





    Good answer, but could use Arid Mesa and Terrain Generator as examples of wording for playing lands from library or hand.

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 9:30






  • 2





    Just to avoid confusion about number of land drops, you might want to change: "An effect that has you get (play) a land card from your hand or library would specifically say so:" to: "An effect that has you put a land card from your hand or library onto the battlefield would specifically say so:"

    – Malco
    Mar 20 at 14:03












  • 5





    Good answer, but could use Arid Mesa and Terrain Generator as examples of wording for playing lands from library or hand.

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 9:30






  • 2





    Just to avoid confusion about number of land drops, you might want to change: "An effect that has you get (play) a land card from your hand or library would specifically say so:" to: "An effect that has you put a land card from your hand or library onto the battlefield would specifically say so:"

    – Malco
    Mar 20 at 14:03







5




5





Good answer, but could use Arid Mesa and Terrain Generator as examples of wording for playing lands from library or hand.

– JollyJoker
Mar 20 at 9:30





Good answer, but could use Arid Mesa and Terrain Generator as examples of wording for playing lands from library or hand.

– JollyJoker
Mar 20 at 9:30




2




2





Just to avoid confusion about number of land drops, you might want to change: "An effect that has you get (play) a land card from your hand or library would specifically say so:" to: "An effect that has you put a land card from your hand or library onto the battlefield would specifically say so:"

– Malco
Mar 20 at 14:03





Just to avoid confusion about number of land drops, you might want to change: "An effect that has you get (play) a land card from your hand or library would specifically say so:" to: "An effect that has you put a land card from your hand or library onto the battlefield would specifically say so:"

– Malco
Mar 20 at 14:03











16














enter image description here



Take a look at the old mountains, they had written on them "T: Add R to your mana pool" from 6th edition on they stopped printing that on the card itself, but the rules still include that all lands with the type Mountain tap for R, that's all the land does is add red mana when tapped. Lands produce mana, they aren't actually mana themselves. This is covered in the Comprehensive Rules(emphasis mine):




305.6 The basic land types are Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest. If an object uses the words "basic land type," it's referring to one of these subtypes. A land with a basic land type has the intrinsic ability "T: Add [mana symbol]," even if the text box doesn't actually contain that text or the object has no text box. For Plains, [mana symbol] is W; for Islands, U; for Swamps, B; for Mountains, R; and for Forests, G. See rule 107.4a. See also rule 605, "Mana Abilities."




That's also why the ability to add mana is in brackets on the more recent printings of typed duals like Sacred Foundry because being a mountain and a plains means it can tap for red or for white, it doesn't need to be explicit on the card, anything in brackets is just there as a reminder.






share|improve this answer

























  • I didn't realize this held true for non-basic lands with basic land types. Have they ever left out the explicit text for nonbasic lands that still have a basic land type?

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 14:31






  • 5





    @JollyJoker Yes, the textboxes of the expedition shock lands didn't even have reminder text, only "As ~ enters the battlefield, you may pay 2 life. If you don't, ~ enters the battlefield tapped." Take a look at Temple Garden

    – Andrew
    Mar 20 at 14:39







  • 2





    @JollyJoker It's also why Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth works, because adding the type swamp to a nonbasic land makes it able to tap for black.

    – Andrew
    Mar 20 at 14:43











  • Good point on Urborg. I just haven't noticed those shock lands

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 14:55















16














enter image description here



Take a look at the old mountains, they had written on them "T: Add R to your mana pool" from 6th edition on they stopped printing that on the card itself, but the rules still include that all lands with the type Mountain tap for R, that's all the land does is add red mana when tapped. Lands produce mana, they aren't actually mana themselves. This is covered in the Comprehensive Rules(emphasis mine):




305.6 The basic land types are Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest. If an object uses the words "basic land type," it's referring to one of these subtypes. A land with a basic land type has the intrinsic ability "T: Add [mana symbol]," even if the text box doesn't actually contain that text or the object has no text box. For Plains, [mana symbol] is W; for Islands, U; for Swamps, B; for Mountains, R; and for Forests, G. See rule 107.4a. See also rule 605, "Mana Abilities."




That's also why the ability to add mana is in brackets on the more recent printings of typed duals like Sacred Foundry because being a mountain and a plains means it can tap for red or for white, it doesn't need to be explicit on the card, anything in brackets is just there as a reminder.






share|improve this answer

























  • I didn't realize this held true for non-basic lands with basic land types. Have they ever left out the explicit text for nonbasic lands that still have a basic land type?

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 14:31






  • 5





    @JollyJoker Yes, the textboxes of the expedition shock lands didn't even have reminder text, only "As ~ enters the battlefield, you may pay 2 life. If you don't, ~ enters the battlefield tapped." Take a look at Temple Garden

    – Andrew
    Mar 20 at 14:39







  • 2





    @JollyJoker It's also why Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth works, because adding the type swamp to a nonbasic land makes it able to tap for black.

    – Andrew
    Mar 20 at 14:43











  • Good point on Urborg. I just haven't noticed those shock lands

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 14:55













16












16








16







enter image description here



Take a look at the old mountains, they had written on them "T: Add R to your mana pool" from 6th edition on they stopped printing that on the card itself, but the rules still include that all lands with the type Mountain tap for R, that's all the land does is add red mana when tapped. Lands produce mana, they aren't actually mana themselves. This is covered in the Comprehensive Rules(emphasis mine):




305.6 The basic land types are Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest. If an object uses the words "basic land type," it's referring to one of these subtypes. A land with a basic land type has the intrinsic ability "T: Add [mana symbol]," even if the text box doesn't actually contain that text or the object has no text box. For Plains, [mana symbol] is W; for Islands, U; for Swamps, B; for Mountains, R; and for Forests, G. See rule 107.4a. See also rule 605, "Mana Abilities."




That's also why the ability to add mana is in brackets on the more recent printings of typed duals like Sacred Foundry because being a mountain and a plains means it can tap for red or for white, it doesn't need to be explicit on the card, anything in brackets is just there as a reminder.






share|improve this answer















enter image description here



Take a look at the old mountains, they had written on them "T: Add R to your mana pool" from 6th edition on they stopped printing that on the card itself, but the rules still include that all lands with the type Mountain tap for R, that's all the land does is add red mana when tapped. Lands produce mana, they aren't actually mana themselves. This is covered in the Comprehensive Rules(emphasis mine):




305.6 The basic land types are Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest. If an object uses the words "basic land type," it's referring to one of these subtypes. A land with a basic land type has the intrinsic ability "T: Add [mana symbol]," even if the text box doesn't actually contain that text or the object has no text box. For Plains, [mana symbol] is W; for Islands, U; for Swamps, B; for Mountains, R; and for Forests, G. See rule 107.4a. See also rule 605, "Mana Abilities."




That's also why the ability to add mana is in brackets on the more recent printings of typed duals like Sacred Foundry because being a mountain and a plains means it can tap for red or for white, it doesn't need to be explicit on the card, anything in brackets is just there as a reminder.







share|improve this answer














share|improve this answer



share|improve this answer








edited Mar 20 at 14:14

























answered Mar 20 at 2:12









AndrewAndrew

5,8651839




5,8651839












  • I didn't realize this held true for non-basic lands with basic land types. Have they ever left out the explicit text for nonbasic lands that still have a basic land type?

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 14:31






  • 5





    @JollyJoker Yes, the textboxes of the expedition shock lands didn't even have reminder text, only "As ~ enters the battlefield, you may pay 2 life. If you don't, ~ enters the battlefield tapped." Take a look at Temple Garden

    – Andrew
    Mar 20 at 14:39







  • 2





    @JollyJoker It's also why Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth works, because adding the type swamp to a nonbasic land makes it able to tap for black.

    – Andrew
    Mar 20 at 14:43











  • Good point on Urborg. I just haven't noticed those shock lands

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 14:55

















  • I didn't realize this held true for non-basic lands with basic land types. Have they ever left out the explicit text for nonbasic lands that still have a basic land type?

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 14:31






  • 5





    @JollyJoker Yes, the textboxes of the expedition shock lands didn't even have reminder text, only "As ~ enters the battlefield, you may pay 2 life. If you don't, ~ enters the battlefield tapped." Take a look at Temple Garden

    – Andrew
    Mar 20 at 14:39







  • 2





    @JollyJoker It's also why Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth works, because adding the type swamp to a nonbasic land makes it able to tap for black.

    – Andrew
    Mar 20 at 14:43











  • Good point on Urborg. I just haven't noticed those shock lands

    – JollyJoker
    Mar 20 at 14:55
















I didn't realize this held true for non-basic lands with basic land types. Have they ever left out the explicit text for nonbasic lands that still have a basic land type?

– JollyJoker
Mar 20 at 14:31





I didn't realize this held true for non-basic lands with basic land types. Have they ever left out the explicit text for nonbasic lands that still have a basic land type?

– JollyJoker
Mar 20 at 14:31




5




5





@JollyJoker Yes, the textboxes of the expedition shock lands didn't even have reminder text, only "As ~ enters the battlefield, you may pay 2 life. If you don't, ~ enters the battlefield tapped." Take a look at Temple Garden

– Andrew
Mar 20 at 14:39






@JollyJoker Yes, the textboxes of the expedition shock lands didn't even have reminder text, only "As ~ enters the battlefield, you may pay 2 life. If you don't, ~ enters the battlefield tapped." Take a look at Temple Garden

– Andrew
Mar 20 at 14:39





2




2





@JollyJoker It's also why Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth works, because adding the type swamp to a nonbasic land makes it able to tap for black.

– Andrew
Mar 20 at 14:43





@JollyJoker It's also why Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth works, because adding the type swamp to a nonbasic land makes it able to tap for black.

– Andrew
Mar 20 at 14:43













Good point on Urborg. I just haven't noticed those shock lands

– JollyJoker
Mar 20 at 14:55





Good point on Urborg. I just haven't noticed those shock lands

– JollyJoker
Mar 20 at 14:55



Popular posts from this blog

Marja Vauras Lähteet | Aiheesta muualla | NavigointivalikkoMarja Vauras Turun yliopiston tutkimusportaalissaInfobox OKSuomalaisen Tiedeakatemian varsinaiset jäsenetKasvatustieteiden tiedekunnan dekaanit ja muu johtoMarja VaurasKoulutusvienti on kestävyys- ja ketteryyslaji (2.5.2017)laajentamallaWorldCat Identities0000 0001 0855 9405n86069603utb201588738523620927

Which is better: GPT or RelGAN for text generation?2019 Community Moderator ElectionWhat is the difference between TextGAN and LM for text generation?GANs (generative adversarial networks) possible for text as well?Generator loss not decreasing- text to image synthesisChoosing a right algorithm for template-based text generationHow should I format input and output for text generation with LSTMsGumbel Softmax vs Vanilla Softmax for GAN trainingWhich neural network to choose for classification from text/speech?NLP text autoencoder that generates text in poetic meterWhat is the interpretation of the expectation notation in the GAN formulation?What is the difference between TextGAN and LM for text generation?How to prepare the data for text generation task

Is this part of the description of the Archfey warlock's Misty Escape feature redundant?When is entropic ward considered “used”?How does the reaction timing work for Wrath of the Storm? Can it potentially prevent the damage from the triggering attack?Does the Dark Arts Archlich warlock patrons's Arcane Invisibility activate every time you cast a level 1+ spell?When attacking while invisible, when exactly does invisibility break?Can I cast Hellish Rebuke on my turn?Do I have to “pre-cast” a reaction spell in order for it to be triggered?What happens if a Player Misty Escapes into an Invisible CreatureCan a reaction interrupt multiattack?Does the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature dispel effects that require the target to be on the same plane as the caster?What are you allowed to do while using the Warlock's Eldritch Master feature?