Are objects structures and/or vice versa?Are cave walls considered objects for the purpose of spells - and how much of one?How can I keep Darkness on a monsterCan a Shadow Dragon become a Dracolich or vice versa?Can radiant damage destroy objects?Do Devils leverage demons and vice versa?Can you attack from inside Rope Trick and vice versa?Are you considered to be wearing/carrying a restraining net/rope/etc. for the purpose of fire based spells?Can Catapult be used on Delayed Blast Fireball?Can you leave objects behind in the ethereal plane?How does Shatter damage objects, if objects are immune to con-save effects?For a multiclassed cleric/wizard, can cleric class features be applied to my wizard spells, and vice versa?

What's the polite way to say "I need to urinate"?

Why does Bran Stark feel that Jon Snow "needs to know" about his lineage?

Pressure to defend the relevance of one's area of mathematics

How can Republicans who favour free markets, consistently express anger when they don't like the outcome of that choice?

Transfer over $10k

Morally unwholesome deeds knowing the consequences but without unwholesome intentions

Why does processed meat contain preservatives, while canned fish needs not?

Lock in SQL Server and Oracle

How to replace the "space symbol" (squat-u) in listings?

Is it possible to measure lightning discharges as Nikola Tesla?

Volunteering in England

Why is the origin of “threshold” uncertain?

Subtleties of choosing the sequence of tenses in Russian

Colliding particles and Activation energy

Asahi Dry Black beer can

Do I have an "anti-research" personality?

Why do Ichisongas hate elephants and hippos?

What is the difference between `a[bc]d` (brackets) and `ab,cd` (braces)?

If Earth is tilted, why is Polaris always above the same spot?

Feels like I am getting dragged in office politics

Confusion about capacitors

How to determine the actual or "true" resolution of a digital photograph?

Was it really necessary for the Lunar Module to have 2 stages?

How to set printing options as reverse order as default on 18.04



Are objects structures and/or vice versa?


Are cave walls considered objects for the purpose of spells - and how much of one?How can I keep Darkness on a monsterCan a Shadow Dragon become a Dracolich or vice versa?Can radiant damage destroy objects?Do Devils leverage demons and vice versa?Can you attack from inside Rope Trick and vice versa?Are you considered to be wearing/carrying a restraining net/rope/etc. for the purpose of fire based spells?Can Catapult be used on Delayed Blast Fireball?Can you leave objects behind in the ethereal plane?How does Shatter damage objects, if objects are immune to con-save effects?For a multiclassed cleric/wizard, can cleric class features be applied to my wizard spells, and vice versa?






.everyoneloves__top-leaderboard:empty,.everyoneloves__mid-leaderboard:empty,.everyoneloves__bot-mid-leaderboard:empty margin-bottom:0;








12












$begingroup$


An interesting issue came up in a game we were playing recently: Our party was on an airship and attacked by flying young dragons. My sorcerer cast a spell that triggered a wild magic surge and rolled a self-centered fireball (at 20,000 feet, whee!).



Here's the issue. Fireball says:




The fire spreads around corners. It ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried.




I've noticed that certain monsters have the "Siege Monster" feature which says:




Siege Monster. The [monster] deals double damage to objects and structures.




This suggests that objects and structures are legally different things and therefore Fireball would ignite an object but not a structure.



But then, perhaps a structure is a type of object? What is the nature/relationship of these two classifications of entities?



(For what it's worth, we ruled that the rope rigging was flammable because rope appears on the gear item table).










share|improve this question











$endgroup$











  • $begingroup$
    Related to, but not a duplicate of, this question
    $endgroup$
    – Mwr247
    Apr 8 at 17:05

















12












$begingroup$


An interesting issue came up in a game we were playing recently: Our party was on an airship and attacked by flying young dragons. My sorcerer cast a spell that triggered a wild magic surge and rolled a self-centered fireball (at 20,000 feet, whee!).



Here's the issue. Fireball says:




The fire spreads around corners. It ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried.




I've noticed that certain monsters have the "Siege Monster" feature which says:




Siege Monster. The [monster] deals double damage to objects and structures.




This suggests that objects and structures are legally different things and therefore Fireball would ignite an object but not a structure.



But then, perhaps a structure is a type of object? What is the nature/relationship of these two classifications of entities?



(For what it's worth, we ruled that the rope rigging was flammable because rope appears on the gear item table).










share|improve this question











$endgroup$











  • $begingroup$
    Related to, but not a duplicate of, this question
    $endgroup$
    – Mwr247
    Apr 8 at 17:05













12












12








12


1



$begingroup$


An interesting issue came up in a game we were playing recently: Our party was on an airship and attacked by flying young dragons. My sorcerer cast a spell that triggered a wild magic surge and rolled a self-centered fireball (at 20,000 feet, whee!).



Here's the issue. Fireball says:




The fire spreads around corners. It ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried.




I've noticed that certain monsters have the "Siege Monster" feature which says:




Siege Monster. The [monster] deals double damage to objects and structures.




This suggests that objects and structures are legally different things and therefore Fireball would ignite an object but not a structure.



But then, perhaps a structure is a type of object? What is the nature/relationship of these two classifications of entities?



(For what it's worth, we ruled that the rope rigging was flammable because rope appears on the gear item table).










share|improve this question











$endgroup$




An interesting issue came up in a game we were playing recently: Our party was on an airship and attacked by flying young dragons. My sorcerer cast a spell that triggered a wild magic surge and rolled a self-centered fireball (at 20,000 feet, whee!).



Here's the issue. Fireball says:




The fire spreads around corners. It ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried.




I've noticed that certain monsters have the "Siege Monster" feature which says:




Siege Monster. The [monster] deals double damage to objects and structures.




This suggests that objects and structures are legally different things and therefore Fireball would ignite an object but not a structure.



But then, perhaps a structure is a type of object? What is the nature/relationship of these two classifications of entities?



(For what it's worth, we ruled that the rope rigging was flammable because rope appears on the gear item table).







dnd-5e objects






share|improve this question















share|improve this question













share|improve this question




share|improve this question








edited Apr 8 at 22:03









V2Blast

28.1k5101171




28.1k5101171










asked Apr 8 at 17:03









RykaraRykara

6,1091849




6,1091849











  • $begingroup$
    Related to, but not a duplicate of, this question
    $endgroup$
    – Mwr247
    Apr 8 at 17:05
















  • $begingroup$
    Related to, but not a duplicate of, this question
    $endgroup$
    – Mwr247
    Apr 8 at 17:05















$begingroup$
Related to, but not a duplicate of, this question
$endgroup$
– Mwr247
Apr 8 at 17:05




$begingroup$
Related to, but not a duplicate of, this question
$endgroup$
– Mwr247
Apr 8 at 17:05










1 Answer
1






active

oldest

votes


















28












$begingroup$

A structure is not an object, but is made of objects



From page 246 of the DMG and the basic rules:




For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.




Lacking a definition from the source books, a "structure" is defined by its common English definition, which would be:




the arrangement of and relations between the parts or elements of something complex.




Thus a structure might be considered to be "a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects".






share|improve this answer











$endgroup$








  • 1




    $begingroup$
    You probably didn't even need to go with the common english. The object rules call out vehicle or building separately. But +1 anyway :)
    $endgroup$
    – NautArch
    Apr 8 at 17:13







  • 1




    $begingroup$
    @NautArch Agreed, but the object rules don't specifically state buildings or vehicles as structures. I wanted to solidify the assertion that 5e itself doesn't define what a structure is, and so we can fall back on the common definition to reach that conclusion with certainty.
    $endgroup$
    – Mwr247
    Apr 8 at 17:16






  • 3




    $begingroup$
    It might be worth pointing out that common sense would indicate that a burning object could certainly eventually set fire to a structure (GM adjudication, of course). I don't think this sort of thing needs to be made explicit within the rules themselves, though.
    $endgroup$
    – keithcurtis
    Apr 8 at 17:19






  • 1




    $begingroup$
    "Is made of objects" that jibes with our table-side ruling of the rope rigging being flammable but not the deck planking.
    $endgroup$
    – Rykara
    Apr 8 at 17:59










  • $begingroup$
    A DM could rule the structures to be combustible, meaning that when exposed to enough heat and time then it would start to burn. So a fireball would not start an airship on fire, but flammable objects on the airship left to burn could eventually ignite the ship.
    $endgroup$
    – Alk
    Apr 17 at 23:52











Your Answer








StackExchange.ready(function()
var channelOptions =
tags: "".split(" "),
id: "122"
;
initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);

StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function()
// Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled)
StackExchange.using("snippets", function()
createEditor();
);

else
createEditor();

);

function createEditor()
StackExchange.prepareEditor(
heartbeatType: 'answer',
autoActivateHeartbeat: false,
convertImagesToLinks: false,
noModals: true,
showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
reputationToPostImages: null,
bindNavPrevention: true,
postfix: "",
imageUploader:
brandingHtml: "Powered by u003ca class="icon-imgur-white" href="https://imgur.com/"u003eu003c/au003e",
contentPolicyHtml: "User contributions licensed under u003ca href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/"u003ecc by-sa 3.0 with attribution requiredu003c/au003e u003ca href="https://stackoverflow.com/legal/content-policy"u003e(content policy)u003c/au003e",
allowUrls: true
,
noCode: true, onDemand: true,
discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
);



);













draft saved

draft discarded


















StackExchange.ready(
function ()
StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f144804%2fare-objects-structures-and-or-vice-versa%23new-answer', 'question_page');

);

Post as a guest















Required, but never shown

























1 Answer
1






active

oldest

votes








1 Answer
1






active

oldest

votes









active

oldest

votes






active

oldest

votes









28












$begingroup$

A structure is not an object, but is made of objects



From page 246 of the DMG and the basic rules:




For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.




Lacking a definition from the source books, a "structure" is defined by its common English definition, which would be:




the arrangement of and relations between the parts or elements of something complex.




Thus a structure might be considered to be "a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects".






share|improve this answer











$endgroup$








  • 1




    $begingroup$
    You probably didn't even need to go with the common english. The object rules call out vehicle or building separately. But +1 anyway :)
    $endgroup$
    – NautArch
    Apr 8 at 17:13







  • 1




    $begingroup$
    @NautArch Agreed, but the object rules don't specifically state buildings or vehicles as structures. I wanted to solidify the assertion that 5e itself doesn't define what a structure is, and so we can fall back on the common definition to reach that conclusion with certainty.
    $endgroup$
    – Mwr247
    Apr 8 at 17:16






  • 3




    $begingroup$
    It might be worth pointing out that common sense would indicate that a burning object could certainly eventually set fire to a structure (GM adjudication, of course). I don't think this sort of thing needs to be made explicit within the rules themselves, though.
    $endgroup$
    – keithcurtis
    Apr 8 at 17:19






  • 1




    $begingroup$
    "Is made of objects" that jibes with our table-side ruling of the rope rigging being flammable but not the deck planking.
    $endgroup$
    – Rykara
    Apr 8 at 17:59










  • $begingroup$
    A DM could rule the structures to be combustible, meaning that when exposed to enough heat and time then it would start to burn. So a fireball would not start an airship on fire, but flammable objects on the airship left to burn could eventually ignite the ship.
    $endgroup$
    – Alk
    Apr 17 at 23:52















28












$begingroup$

A structure is not an object, but is made of objects



From page 246 of the DMG and the basic rules:




For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.




Lacking a definition from the source books, a "structure" is defined by its common English definition, which would be:




the arrangement of and relations between the parts or elements of something complex.




Thus a structure might be considered to be "a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects".






share|improve this answer











$endgroup$








  • 1




    $begingroup$
    You probably didn't even need to go with the common english. The object rules call out vehicle or building separately. But +1 anyway :)
    $endgroup$
    – NautArch
    Apr 8 at 17:13







  • 1




    $begingroup$
    @NautArch Agreed, but the object rules don't specifically state buildings or vehicles as structures. I wanted to solidify the assertion that 5e itself doesn't define what a structure is, and so we can fall back on the common definition to reach that conclusion with certainty.
    $endgroup$
    – Mwr247
    Apr 8 at 17:16






  • 3




    $begingroup$
    It might be worth pointing out that common sense would indicate that a burning object could certainly eventually set fire to a structure (GM adjudication, of course). I don't think this sort of thing needs to be made explicit within the rules themselves, though.
    $endgroup$
    – keithcurtis
    Apr 8 at 17:19






  • 1




    $begingroup$
    "Is made of objects" that jibes with our table-side ruling of the rope rigging being flammable but not the deck planking.
    $endgroup$
    – Rykara
    Apr 8 at 17:59










  • $begingroup$
    A DM could rule the structures to be combustible, meaning that when exposed to enough heat and time then it would start to burn. So a fireball would not start an airship on fire, but flammable objects on the airship left to burn could eventually ignite the ship.
    $endgroup$
    – Alk
    Apr 17 at 23:52













28












28








28





$begingroup$

A structure is not an object, but is made of objects



From page 246 of the DMG and the basic rules:




For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.




Lacking a definition from the source books, a "structure" is defined by its common English definition, which would be:




the arrangement of and relations between the parts or elements of something complex.




Thus a structure might be considered to be "a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects".






share|improve this answer











$endgroup$



A structure is not an object, but is made of objects



From page 246 of the DMG and the basic rules:




For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.




Lacking a definition from the source books, a "structure" is defined by its common English definition, which would be:




the arrangement of and relations between the parts or elements of something complex.




Thus a structure might be considered to be "a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects".







share|improve this answer














share|improve this answer



share|improve this answer








edited Apr 8 at 18:48









PixelMaster

13.5k351123




13.5k351123










answered Apr 8 at 17:09









Mwr247Mwr247

3,0041727




3,0041727







  • 1




    $begingroup$
    You probably didn't even need to go with the common english. The object rules call out vehicle or building separately. But +1 anyway :)
    $endgroup$
    – NautArch
    Apr 8 at 17:13







  • 1




    $begingroup$
    @NautArch Agreed, but the object rules don't specifically state buildings or vehicles as structures. I wanted to solidify the assertion that 5e itself doesn't define what a structure is, and so we can fall back on the common definition to reach that conclusion with certainty.
    $endgroup$
    – Mwr247
    Apr 8 at 17:16






  • 3




    $begingroup$
    It might be worth pointing out that common sense would indicate that a burning object could certainly eventually set fire to a structure (GM adjudication, of course). I don't think this sort of thing needs to be made explicit within the rules themselves, though.
    $endgroup$
    – keithcurtis
    Apr 8 at 17:19






  • 1




    $begingroup$
    "Is made of objects" that jibes with our table-side ruling of the rope rigging being flammable but not the deck planking.
    $endgroup$
    – Rykara
    Apr 8 at 17:59










  • $begingroup$
    A DM could rule the structures to be combustible, meaning that when exposed to enough heat and time then it would start to burn. So a fireball would not start an airship on fire, but flammable objects on the airship left to burn could eventually ignite the ship.
    $endgroup$
    – Alk
    Apr 17 at 23:52












  • 1




    $begingroup$
    You probably didn't even need to go with the common english. The object rules call out vehicle or building separately. But +1 anyway :)
    $endgroup$
    – NautArch
    Apr 8 at 17:13







  • 1




    $begingroup$
    @NautArch Agreed, but the object rules don't specifically state buildings or vehicles as structures. I wanted to solidify the assertion that 5e itself doesn't define what a structure is, and so we can fall back on the common definition to reach that conclusion with certainty.
    $endgroup$
    – Mwr247
    Apr 8 at 17:16






  • 3




    $begingroup$
    It might be worth pointing out that common sense would indicate that a burning object could certainly eventually set fire to a structure (GM adjudication, of course). I don't think this sort of thing needs to be made explicit within the rules themselves, though.
    $endgroup$
    – keithcurtis
    Apr 8 at 17:19






  • 1




    $begingroup$
    "Is made of objects" that jibes with our table-side ruling of the rope rigging being flammable but not the deck planking.
    $endgroup$
    – Rykara
    Apr 8 at 17:59










  • $begingroup$
    A DM could rule the structures to be combustible, meaning that when exposed to enough heat and time then it would start to burn. So a fireball would not start an airship on fire, but flammable objects on the airship left to burn could eventually ignite the ship.
    $endgroup$
    – Alk
    Apr 17 at 23:52







1




1




$begingroup$
You probably didn't even need to go with the common english. The object rules call out vehicle or building separately. But +1 anyway :)
$endgroup$
– NautArch
Apr 8 at 17:13





$begingroup$
You probably didn't even need to go with the common english. The object rules call out vehicle or building separately. But +1 anyway :)
$endgroup$
– NautArch
Apr 8 at 17:13





1




1




$begingroup$
@NautArch Agreed, but the object rules don't specifically state buildings or vehicles as structures. I wanted to solidify the assertion that 5e itself doesn't define what a structure is, and so we can fall back on the common definition to reach that conclusion with certainty.
$endgroup$
– Mwr247
Apr 8 at 17:16




$begingroup$
@NautArch Agreed, but the object rules don't specifically state buildings or vehicles as structures. I wanted to solidify the assertion that 5e itself doesn't define what a structure is, and so we can fall back on the common definition to reach that conclusion with certainty.
$endgroup$
– Mwr247
Apr 8 at 17:16




3




3




$begingroup$
It might be worth pointing out that common sense would indicate that a burning object could certainly eventually set fire to a structure (GM adjudication, of course). I don't think this sort of thing needs to be made explicit within the rules themselves, though.
$endgroup$
– keithcurtis
Apr 8 at 17:19




$begingroup$
It might be worth pointing out that common sense would indicate that a burning object could certainly eventually set fire to a structure (GM adjudication, of course). I don't think this sort of thing needs to be made explicit within the rules themselves, though.
$endgroup$
– keithcurtis
Apr 8 at 17:19




1




1




$begingroup$
"Is made of objects" that jibes with our table-side ruling of the rope rigging being flammable but not the deck planking.
$endgroup$
– Rykara
Apr 8 at 17:59




$begingroup$
"Is made of objects" that jibes with our table-side ruling of the rope rigging being flammable but not the deck planking.
$endgroup$
– Rykara
Apr 8 at 17:59












$begingroup$
A DM could rule the structures to be combustible, meaning that when exposed to enough heat and time then it would start to burn. So a fireball would not start an airship on fire, but flammable objects on the airship left to burn could eventually ignite the ship.
$endgroup$
– Alk
Apr 17 at 23:52




$begingroup$
A DM could rule the structures to be combustible, meaning that when exposed to enough heat and time then it would start to burn. So a fireball would not start an airship on fire, but flammable objects on the airship left to burn could eventually ignite the ship.
$endgroup$
– Alk
Apr 17 at 23:52

















draft saved

draft discarded
















































Thanks for contributing an answer to Role-playing Games Stack Exchange!


  • Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

But avoid


  • Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.

  • Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.

Use MathJax to format equations. MathJax reference.


To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.




draft saved


draft discarded














StackExchange.ready(
function ()
StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f144804%2fare-objects-structures-and-or-vice-versa%23new-answer', 'question_page');

);

Post as a guest















Required, but never shown





















































Required, but never shown














Required, but never shown












Required, but never shown







Required, but never shown

































Required, but never shown














Required, but never shown












Required, but never shown







Required, but never shown







Popular posts from this blog

Marja Vauras Lähteet | Aiheesta muualla | NavigointivalikkoMarja Vauras Turun yliopiston tutkimusportaalissaInfobox OKSuomalaisen Tiedeakatemian varsinaiset jäsenetKasvatustieteiden tiedekunnan dekaanit ja muu johtoMarja VaurasKoulutusvienti on kestävyys- ja ketteryyslaji (2.5.2017)laajentamallaWorldCat Identities0000 0001 0855 9405n86069603utb201588738523620927

Which is better: GPT or RelGAN for text generation?2019 Community Moderator ElectionWhat is the difference between TextGAN and LM for text generation?GANs (generative adversarial networks) possible for text as well?Generator loss not decreasing- text to image synthesisChoosing a right algorithm for template-based text generationHow should I format input and output for text generation with LSTMsGumbel Softmax vs Vanilla Softmax for GAN trainingWhich neural network to choose for classification from text/speech?NLP text autoencoder that generates text in poetic meterWhat is the interpretation of the expectation notation in the GAN formulation?What is the difference between TextGAN and LM for text generation?How to prepare the data for text generation task

Is this part of the description of the Archfey warlock's Misty Escape feature redundant?When is entropic ward considered “used”?How does the reaction timing work for Wrath of the Storm? Can it potentially prevent the damage from the triggering attack?Does the Dark Arts Archlich warlock patrons's Arcane Invisibility activate every time you cast a level 1+ spell?When attacking while invisible, when exactly does invisibility break?Can I cast Hellish Rebuke on my turn?Do I have to “pre-cast” a reaction spell in order for it to be triggered?What happens if a Player Misty Escapes into an Invisible CreatureCan a reaction interrupt multiattack?Does the Fiend-patron warlock's Hurl Through Hell feature dispel effects that require the target to be on the same plane as the caster?What are you allowed to do while using the Warlock's Eldritch Master feature?